Indiana ranks 15th in the nation for the highest percentage of uninsured drivers within our state. According to a 2021 report by the Insurance Research Council, approximately 15.8% of Hoosiers are driving uninsured. Indiana law requires minimum insurance liability coverage as follows:
$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
When you are hit by an uninsured driver in Indiana, you will need to contact your own insurance company to check the coverage you have for “uninsured motorist bodily injury.” This policy will tell you the type of coverage you have for accidents that occur with an uninsured driver. Although you are dealing with your own insurance company in this situation, you will still need to go through the entire personal injury case process.
The biggest advantage you can give yourself in this situation is to work with a personal injury attorney. A personal injury attorney will help make the process easier and fairer. Beasley & Gilkison, LLP is here to assist in your personal injury case and answer any questions you may have.
About the author: Aubrey J. Crist is a graduate of Muncie Southside High School, Ball State University, and the University of Dayton School of Law.